Government of Saskatchewan
Quick Search:
Tuesday, April 21, 2015


Health Minister John Nilson today announced the reappointment of 11 current Heartland Regional Health Authority members to a second three-year term and the appointment of Kindersley resident Carrie Howie as a new authority member.

"The health authority members, under the leadership of chairperson Lyle Leys and vice-chairperson Betty Shapka, have served the community well since the creation of regional health authorities in 2002," Nilson said. "I am pleased that we can call upon them for three more years of service."

"I warmly welcome Ms. Howie to the Heartland Regional Health Authority and look forward to working with her," Heartland Regional Health Authority chairperson Lyle Leys said. "We welcome her perspective and her readiness to contribute to a quality network of health services in the region."

Howie is active in community organizations and associations and is a member of the Kindersley Division School Board. She farms with her husband in the Kindersley area.

Reappointed to the regional health authority are:

· Lyle Leys, Elrose, chairperson
· Betty Shapka, Macklin, vice-chairperson
· Cindy Hoppe, Biggar
· Bill Sittler, Wilkie
· Erhard Poggemiller, Kerrobert
· Gary Johnson, Eston
· Wayne Vaxvick, Outlook
· Les Langager, Loreburn
· Diane Javens, Rosetown
· Evelen Wagner, Unity
· George Siemens, Fiske

The appointments are in effect until July 2008. The authority is responsible for the planning, organization, delivery and evaluation of health services within the health region.


For More Information, Contact:

Jocelyn Argue
Phone: (306) 787-4083
Icon  News Archives

Home/About Government/News Releases
© 2015 Government of Saskatchewan. All rights reserved.