Government of Saskatchewan
Quick Search:
Wednesday, April 01, 2015


The Government of Saskatchewan has appointed Neal Hardy as Chairperson of the Saskatchewan Assessment Management Agency (SAMA) Board of Directors.

"Mr. Hardy has an excellent reputation as a man dedicated to the betterment of our province," Municipal Affairs Minister Jeremy Harrison said. "We look forward to working with Mr. Hardy and the SAMA Board to further strengthen and move our province forward, making it a great place for all Saskatchewan people."

Hardy served as president of the Saskatchewan Association of Rural Municipalities (SARM) from 2002 to 2005 and was a Member of the Legislative Assembly in Saskatchewan from 1980 to 1991, serving as Minister of the Environment from 1982 to 1985 and as Minister of Rural Development from 1985 to 1991.

Hardy replaces Craig Melvin, who retired from the Board when his term as Chairperson elapsed September 1, 2009.

"We thank Mr. Melvin for his leadership and hard work through 2009, a revaluation year for our province," Harrison said. "His governance of the Board of SAMA through this time of change is greatly appreciated."

"We also thank Craig Melvin for his excellent work," Saskatchewan School Boards Association President Roy Challis said. "We look forward also to working with Mr. Hardy over the course of his term. He brings a wealth of experience to this important table."

The Saskatchewan Association of Rural Municipalities (SARM) is pleased Mr. Hardy has been appointed chairperson of the SAMA Board of Directors.

"SARM has enjoyed an excellent relationship with Mr. Hardy in the past and we look forward to working with him in the future," SARM President David Marit said.

SAMA develops and maintains the province's assessment policies, standards and procedures. SAMA audits assessments and reviews and confirms municipal assessment rolls and provides property valuation services to local governments (municipalities and school boards). SAMA provides reliable, up-to-date property assessment valuations, the base upon which governments set tax policy and property tax rates.


For more information, contact:

Jeff Welke
Municipal Affairs
Phone: 306-787-6156

Icon  News Archives

Home/About Government/News Releases
© 2015 Government of Saskatchewan. All rights reserved.