Government of Saskatchewan
Quick Search:
Monday, March 30, 2015


After more than five years as Saskatchewan Transportation Company President and 44 years as a provincial government employee, Ray Clayton will retire Jan. 31.

"On behalf of the Government of Saskatchewan, I would like to thank Ray for his 44 years of dedicated service to the province," Minister responsible for STC Jim Reiter said. "I wish him all the best for a long and happy retirement."

During his time in government, Clayton has worked in 12 different positions (six as permanent or acting head) in six different Ministries and Crown Corporations, under 23 different Ministers.

In 1998, he was awarded the Lieutenant Governor's Medal of the Institute of Public Administration of Canada, in recognition of accomplishments in the area of public administration.

"I feel very privileged to have been able to serve the province and people of Saskatchewan over the past 44 years," Clayton said. "STC provides an important service in Saskatchewan, connecting people and communities. The opportunity to provide leadership at the company has been interesting, challenging and very rewarding."

Clayton was appointed President of STC in 2004. Major accomplishments under his tenure included approval, design and construction of the new Regina head office, passenger terminal and freight depot (completed in November 2008) and establishment of the first new bus passenger route in 25 years (PA to La Loche) under a contractual arrangement.

"I feel professionally fulfilled and am looking forward to the next stage of my life - the opportunity to spend more time with family and friends, undertaking some family history projects and informally chronicling my years of government service," Clayton said.

Shawn Grice, STC Chief Financial Officer, will assume the role of Acting President and CEO until a permanent appointment is made.


For more information, contact:

Lorri Thacyk
Saskatchewan Transportation Company
Phone: 306-787-6807
Cell: 306-529-5644

Icon  News Archives

Home/About Government/News Releases
© 2015 Government of Saskatchewan. All rights reserved.