Government of Saskatchewan
Quick Search:
Saturday, April 18, 2015


The contributions of seven outstanding Saskatchewan citizens have been

recognized at an investiture of the Saskatchewan Order of Merit.

The Saskatchewan Order of Merit, the province's top honour, recognizes

outstanding contributions to the greater Saskatchewan community.

Lieutenant Governor Lynda Haverstock presided over the ceremony.

The recipients are: Neil Jahnke, a Gouldtown district rancher; Dr. Lalita

Malhotra, a Prince Albert family physician; Peggy McKercher, a Saskatoon

community leader; Ken Mitchell, a Regina writer and professor; Geoffrey

Pawson, President of Ranch Ehrlo Society of Regina; Jacqui Shumiatcher,

Regina arts patron; and Ernie Walker, a Saskatoon anthropology professor.

"It is my great privilege to invest this year's recipients with the

Saskatchewan Order of Merit," Haverstock said. "Each has contributed to

the well-being and enrichment of our society. Each underlines the rich

breadth of achievement that makes Saskatchewan an enviable place to live."

Nominations for the Saskatchewan Order of Merit come from the public. The

Saskatchewan Honours Advisory Council reviews all nominations and

recommends recipients each year for investiture.

Since its inception in 1985, there have been 103 members of the Order

including His Royal Highness the Prince of Wales who received the first

honourary membership in the Saskatchewan Order of Merit this spring, and

Lieutenant Governor Haverstock who is an ex-officio member.


For more information contact:

Michael Jackson

Protocol Office


Phone: (306) 787-3109

PLEASE NOTE: Biographies and telephone numbers of recipients are attached.

All recipients are willing to be interviewed.
Icon  News Archives

Home/About Government/News Releases
© 2015 Government of Saskatchewan. All rights reserved.