Government of Saskatchewan
Quick Search:
Saturday, March 28, 2015


Premier Brad Wall today tasked a Cabinet Committee to provide coordination of the Province's response to the unprecedented flooding faced by Saskatchewan people, including yesterday's flooding in the City of Yorkton.

"Our Emergency Measures Organizations do an excellent job of coordinating the various agencies of Government during crises such as has occurred in Yorkton. I want to ensure that the follow up to these efforts meets the medium and long term needs of the victims," Premier Wall said. "Our province is experiencing an unprecedented spring rainfall that is causing widespread havoc - and needs of Saskatchewan people must be addressed as quickly as possible."

The purpose of this committee is to ensure coordinated, long-term response to the needs of the victims and the community and to ensure any impediments to the delivery of Disaster Assistance, both Provincial and Federal, are removed. It will further co-ordinate with the Federal Government to help ensure that assistance flows smoothly and swiftly.

"People are facing catastrophic losses as a result of these natural events and we need to make sure that all levels of Government respond in a compassionate, timely and effective manner," Wall said.

The committee will report to Cabinet and will be chaired by Corrections, Public Safety and Policing (CPSP) Minister Yogi Huyghebaert. Committee members will include: Municipal Affairs Minister Darryl Hickie, Environment Minister Dustin Duncan, Agriculture Minister Bob Bjornerud, Health Minister Don McMorris, Social Services Minister June Draude, Highways and Infrastructure Minister Jim Reiter, and Crown Investments Corporation (CIC) Minister Tim McMillan.


For more information, contact:

Kathy Young
Executive Council
Phone: 306-787-0425
Cell: 306-526-8927

Icon  News Archives

Home/About Government/News Releases
© 2015 Government of Saskatchewan. All rights reserved.