Government of Saskatchewan
Quick Search:
Saturday, March 28, 2015


Enterprise Saskatchewan and the Saskatchewan Young Professionals and Entrepreneurs (SYPE) today launched the Volta Award, to encourage youth to consider entrepreneurship as a career choice.

The SYPE Volta Award recognizes excellence in youth entrepreneurship in the province and will tap into a younger target audience by employing two significant social media platforms - Facebook and YouTube.

"Engaging Saskatchewan youth in business and recognizing excellence in entrepreneurship is more important than ever," Enterprise Minister and Minister responsible for Trade Jeremy Harrison said. "Our young business leaders will play an integral role in directing Saskatchewan into the future and are key to innovation, job creation and economic growth in this province."

The entry deadline for the SYPE Volta Award is March 31, 2011. Following the deadline, four finalists will be chosen by a SYPE Silver Spades selection committee. A University of Regina film student will film professional video submissions for each of the four finalists. The professional video submissions will be uploaded to the SYPE Facebook page, where online users will vote for their favourite finalist.

A winner will be determined based on Facebook votes and a SYPE selection committee. The winner of the SYPE Volta Award will be announced at the SYPE Silver Spades awards gala in June 2011. A $5,000 cash prize, sponsored by the Saskatchewan Research Council, will be awarded to the winner.

Complete entry details are available online at

SYPE is a group spearheaded by Saskatchewan youth that works to promote business and opportunities, and to retain young people in the province. Enterprise Saskatchewan's partnership in this award stems from a Board recommendation from the Youth Economic Engagement Council.


For more information, contact:

Shanna Schulhauser
Enterprise Saskatchewan
Phone: 306-798-0503

Icon  News Archives

Home/About Government/News Releases
© 2015 Government of Saskatchewan. All rights reserved.