Government of Saskatchewan
Quick Search:
Saturday, April 18, 2015


Lieutenant Governor Vaughn Solomon Schofield and Corrections and Policing Minister Christine Tell today recognized 40 men and women for career achievements in the provincial correctional services.

“The contributions made by each of these dedicated people to help keep our communities safe, and to the rehabilitation of individuals in conflict with the law, are both admirable and important,” Tell said.  “Congratulations to all the recipients – they are strong role models who deserve special recognition.”

Exemplary Service Medals commemorate at least 20 years of distinguished service with the Corrections Branch of Saskatchewan Justice.  Eight previous medal recipients received Exemplary Service Bars, recognizing an additional decade of service.

Saskatchewan Justice 2013 honourees are:
Edgar Ahenakew (Prince Albert), Larry Aquilon (Prince Albert), Rob Arthur (Saskatoon), John Beatty (Prince Albert), Ken Berkach (Prince Albert), Ron Bonscescu (Prince Albert), Curtis Bryshun (Saskatoon), Peggy Burke (Prince Albert), Darrell Dyck (Saskatoon), Ron Fisher (Saskatoon), Cyrel Frandsen (Prince Albert), Tracy Gulka (Yorkton), Grant Halkyard (Regina), Tami Handley (North Battleford), Don Howland (Prince Albert), Kevin Kerr (Prince Albert), Stephen Kmiech (North Battleford), Kevin Korycki (Prince Albert), Connie Lehky (Prince Albert), Gord Lupanko (Regina), Christopher Lyons (Prince Albert), Lorna Martsinskiw (Prince Albert), Barry Mayoros (Prince Albert), Mark McFadyen (Regina), Dwayne Mills (Prince Albert), Twila Mund (Yorkton), Arlene Neilson (Prince Albert), Blayne Nelson (Prince Albert), Elaine Park (Prince Albert), Lorie Ross (Prince Albert), Dawn Sinclair (Prince Albert), Gord Stiglitz (Prince Albert), Allen Stubbs (Prince Albert), Cathy Suchorab (Prince Albert), Rebecca Turner (Prince Albert), Lorne Valuck (Prince Albert), Esther Wolfe (Prince Albert) and Bernard Zimmerman (Prince Albert).

Recipients of Corrections Exemplary Service Awards must have worked for at least 10 years in a correctional institution, parole or probation office, demonstrating good conduct and displaying excellence and devotion to duty.

The awards were established in 1984 to recognize the hazardous conditions faced by peace officers working with offenders.


For more information, contact:

Janice Wilby
Corrections and Policing
Phone: 306-787-8621
Cell: 306-527-0363

Icon  News Archives

Home/About Government/News Releases
© 2015 Government of Saskatchewan. All rights reserved.