Government of Saskatchewan
Quick Search:
Thursday, March 05, 2015


Economic Development Minister Dwain Lingenfelter and Warren Radloff,
EDEN Regional Economic Development Authority (REDA) interim
chairperson, today jointly announced formation of the authority in
Northeast Saskatchewan.

Founding members include the City of Melfort; the Towns of Choiceland,
Carrot River and Nipawin; the Village of Zenon Park and the RM of
Flett's Springs. Also part of the REDA is the Kelsey Rural Development
Corporation representing the Rms of Barrier Valley, Bjorkdale, Tisdale
and Connaught; the Town of Tisdale; the Villages of Mistatim, Valpariso
and Archerwill; and, the Kinistin Band. The AZPAA Rural Development
Corporation is also a member, representing the RM of Arborfield, the
Town of Arborfield and the Villages of Zenon Park and Aylsham.

Other stakeholders include the Pasquia District Health Board, Newsask
Community Futures Development Corporation, Cumberland Regional College,
Canada Employment Centre, Melfort and District Chamber of Commerce and
Boysen Consulting of Gronlid.

Lingenfelter said there are many opportunities developing as a result
of the strong growth and diversification of the provincial economy, and
EDEN REDA can build on them.

"EDEN Regional Economic Development Authority's unique aspects provide
the communities within the REDA opportunities to develop their
resources in forestry, specialty crops, food processing, tourism,
recreation and cultural activities," Lingenfelter said.

"EDEN REDA contains some of the best parks and recreational areas in
our province, so I'm particularly pleased to see that the Authority
will be used to co-ordinate promotion of the region as a tourist

The REDA initiative, one of 31 called for in the province's Partnership
for Renewal economic strategy, is based on local co-operation and
regional co-ordination. A regional economic development authority
provides a regional structure made up of municipal governments,
businesses, co-operatives and other community economic development
organizations to co-ordinate and pool their organizational,
professional and financial resources to encourage new jobs and new

REDAs are established, owned and operated by regional economic
development stakeholders to achieve the long-term goal of enhanced
partnerships, co-ordination, organizational stability and community
economic development service.

To date, other REDAs have been established in the regions of Hudson
Bay, Prince Albert, Rosetown, Swift Current, Meadow Lake, Watrous,
Saskatoon, Kindersley, Humboldt, Ituna and Yorkton.


For more information contact:

Terry Crowe Warren Radloff
Economic Development EDEN REDA
Regina Star City
Phone: (306) 787-2753 Phone: (306) 863-4378

Icon  News Archives

Home/About Government/News Releases
© 2015 Government of Saskatchewan. All rights reserved.