Government of Saskatchewan
Quick Search:
Saturday, April 18, 2015


The Saskatchewan athletes of the Canadian Paralympic Team to compete in Sydney,

Australia in October were introduced this afternoon by Federal Secretary of

State for amateur sport Denis Coderre and Saskatchewan Minister of Municipal

Affairs, Culture and Housing Jack Hillson.

Coderre took the opportunity to offer his best wishes to the Canadian

Paralympic Team for the upcoming Sydney 2000 Paralympic Games. "The success of

Paralympic athletes is the result of constant efforts and outstanding force of

character. Athletes are vital models of inspiration for us all."

"We know these young Saskatchewan women and men will make the province and the

country proud with their skill, sportsmanship and competitive spirit," Hillson


The Saskatchewan athletes have distinguished themselves in past competition in

their respective sports.

Saskatonian Amy Alsop has been playing goalball for seven years, earning many

medals and honours as a member of Team Saskatchewan, including a first and

second-place showing at the nationals last year.

Mike Bacon of Saskatoon is a 10-year veteran of the National Wheelchair Rugby

Team and was named an all-star at the national championships in both 1999 and

2000. He brought home a silver medal from the 1996 Atlanta Paralympic Games.

Saskatonian Colette Bourgonje has competed at three Winter Paralympics and two

Summer Paralympics, winning two silver medals at Nagano and two bronze medals

at Atlanta.

Lisa Franks hails from Moose Jaw and has been on the National Wheelchair

Athletics Team for one year, having also competed in two Jeux du Canada Games.

Lisa placed first in five events at the Australian Southern Cross Games in

1999, establishing a world record in the 5,000 metres.

Pilot Butte native Clayton Gerein is a world record-holder in the 1,500 and

5,000-metre events. He also won gold in the marathon at the 1992 Barcelona

Paralympics Games.

Rick Reelie of Saskatoon has been a national team member since 1988, placing

first in both the 400- and 800-metre events and second in the 200- and 1,500-

metre events at the 1992 Barcelona Paralympic Games.

Saskatonian Allan Semeniuk was named an all-star at both the 1999 and 2000

Canadian Wheelchair Rugby Championships. He has been on the National

Wheelchair Rugby Team since 1993, representing Canada at two world

championships and the 1996 Atlanta Paralympic Games, where he earned a silver


Joey Stabner hails from Saskatoon and has been a member of the Canadian

National Disabled Volleyball Team since 1995. The team won a bronze medal at

the 1999 Pan Am Games, earning the right to compete at the 2000 Sydney

Paralympic Games.

Daryl Stubel of Regina is co-captain of the National Wheelchair Rugby Team and

also competes in individual sports. He earned a silver medal in the 400 metres

at the 1988 Paralympic Games in Seoul, Korea and won a silver medal in rugby at

the 1996 Atlanta Paralympics.

In addition, Saskatchewan's Wayne Hellquist has been chosen as the Chef de

Mission for the Canadian Paralympic Team for the 2000 Games. Also going to

Sydney from Saskatchewan are wheelchair sports coach Judy Peddle of Saskatoon

and goalball coach Launel Scott of Saskatoon.


For more information, contact:

Maureen Boyle Patrick L. Doyon

Municipal Affairs, Culture & Housing Director of Communications

Regina Office of the Secretary of State

Phone: (306) 787-5959 (Amateur Sport)

Phone: (819) 994-9909
Icon  News Archives

Home/About Government/News Releases
© 2015 Government of Saskatchewan. All rights reserved.