Government of Saskatchewan
Quick Search:
Sunday, March 29, 2015


Approximately $1.8 million in charitable gaming grants are being distributed to more than 1,000 groups and organizations across the province by the Saskatchewan Liquor and Gaming Authority (SLGA).

"These organizations provide services that enhance the economic and social well-being of communities across the province," Minister responsible for the Saskatchewan Liquor and Gaming Authority Tim McMillan said. "Our government is pleased to be able to provide them with additional funds through the charitable grant program."

The quarterly grants, which are based on the net proceeds raised through licensed charitable gaming activities, provide important funding for a variety of community projects including volunteer fire departments, humane societies, amateur football and hockey clubs and a variety of local service clubs.

Among the grants provided by SLGA, Lloydminster and area received grants totalling $26,268; Moose Jaw and area: $42,675; North Battleford and area: $65,579; Swift Current and area: $26,497; Weyburn and area: $33,497 and Yorkton and area: $36,046.

The charitable gaming grant program supports groups and organizations that conduct charitable gaming including licensed bingos, raffles, breakopen tickets, Texas Hold ‘em poker and Monte Carlo events. Groups and organizations receive a grant equal to 25 per cent of the net revenues raised from these activities, up to a maximum grant of $100,000 annually.

Charitable gaming grants are paid quarterly. Groups that conduct licensed charitable gaming activities do not have to apply for the charitable gaming grant. Charitable gaming reports submitted by the groups are used by SLGA to calculate grants.

In 2009-10, SLGA paid out approximately $7.8 million through the charitable gaming grant program.


For more information, contact:

Stephanie Choma
Saskatchewan Liquor and Gaming Authority
Phone: 306-787-1799

Related Documents
Icon  News Archives

Home/About Government/News Releases
© 2015 Government of Saskatchewan. All rights reserved.