Government of Saskatchewan
Quick Search:
Wednesday, April 01, 2015


A luncheon honouring 15 Saskatchewan volunteers for more than a quarter century of service to their local housing authority will be held today in Regina.

"Giving freely of one's energy, time, enthusiasm and talents is truly a special calling," Social Services Minister and Minister responsible for Saskatchewan Housing Corporation June Draude said. "It's a gift that is given every day to help people all across Saskatchewan. Local housing authorities not only look after our important investment in public housing, but more importantly, care about the community members who reside in these properties. Our government truly values their commitment to improving the lives of Saskatchewan people in need."

The luncheon, which was hosted by Minister Draude, honoured the following individuals for their years of volunteer service with their respective local housing authority:

25 years:

Evelyn Baxter - Codette Housing Authority
Betty Edworthy - Weekes Housing Authority
Geraldine Peppler - Yorkton Housing Authority
Grace Strobel - Waldheim Housing Authority
John W. Hendricks - Milden Housing Authority
Robert Piercy - Milden Housing Authority
Walter Gardiner - Bethune Housing Authority
T. Ernest Millar - Bethune Housing Authority
P. Leanne McDonald - Sturgis Housing Authority
Melvin Kozlowski - Battleford Housing Authority

30 years:

Jean Babiuk - Sturgis Housing Authority
Lloyd Hunchak - Blaine Lake Housing Authority
Nancy Neufeld - Warman Housing Authority
Yvonne Wilson - Lashburn Housing Authority
Dianne Epp - Laird Housing Authority

Saskatchewan has a network of 267 housing authorities served by more than 1,500 volunteer members across the province. The Province of Saskatchewan appoints these volunteers, and recognition of long-service is a regular initiative by the Saskatchewan Housing Corporation.


For more information, contact:

Linda Saliken
Social Services
Phone: 306-787-0246


Icon  News Archives

Home/About Government/News Releases
© 2015 Government of Saskatchewan. All rights reserved.