Government of Saskatchewan
Quick Search:
Sunday, April 19, 2015


Learning Minister Deb Higgins joined students and staff at Prince Arthur Community School in Moose Jaw today to announce that the Government of Saskatchewan is investing an estimated $600,000 to improve two schools in the communities of Moose Jaw and Assiniboia.

"Support for these school improvement projects demonstrate our continued commitment to work with school divisions to provide healthy, comfortable and well equipped learning environments for Saskatchewan students," Higgins said. "We are investing in schools, in students and in the future of Saskatchewan."

"Our Board's number one priority is student success and ensuring we have the tools and resources in place to ensure that success," Prairie South Board of Education chair Gord Stewart said. "Our students spend a good portion of their day in our schools so ensuring those schools are conducive to learning excellence, and overall wellbeing in general, is essential."

The capital improvement projects include:

  • $553,170 to the Prairie South School Division for the final phase of renovations to Prince Arthur Community School; and
  • $48,000 to the Prairie South School Division for building system upgrades to Assiniboia Composite.

The projects announced today are part of the Government of Saskatchewan's investment of approximately $5.6 million to improve the learning environment in 33 Saskatchewan schools. These include improvements such as roof replacement and restoration, renovations, additions, mechanical system upgrades and building system upgrades. Funding for these projects will be cost-shared with school divisions across the province. The total funding for capital projects this fiscal year is $18.3 million.

"These school improvement projects are part of the government's commitment to make Saskatchewan the best place for young people to live, work and build strong futures," Higgins said.


For more information, contact:

Margaret Ball
Phone: 306-787-5631

Icon  News Archives

Home/About Government/News Releases
© 2015 Government of Saskatchewan. All rights reserved.